Desert Breeze Travel Camp

FeaturedNew
 
4.1 (36)
79664 1 22 4 29

User reviews

19 reviews with 5 stars

36 reviews

 
(19)
 
(9)
 
(5)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
3.8  (36)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.6  (36)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.3  (36)
Value 
 
4.1  (36)
Overall Experience 
 
4.1  (36)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
19 results - showing 1 - 19
Ordering
Oct 2017-March 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We so enjoyed our stay at YPG. This was our first winter there and found everyone friendly and full of information of things to do and see. The staff was great, very friendly and helpful also. There is a very nice community room with a couple of pool tables, game tables (which a few of us used most every night) plus a TV room. There is also a very nice gym, small commissary, bowling alley and a library. The sites are gravel with a cement pad patio. We would stay there again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
December 2017 - January 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a great place to camp. The weather is wonderful. The rest of the USA is buried under snow and ice and we are at a balmy 73 degrees. So glad that no reservations are accepted, because that means you get here and if a site is available, it is yours for up to 7 months. I would say that at the height of the season, it is about 90% full. Great amenities, great wifi reception. There is a small bowling alley and snack bar, a great gym, swimming pool (closed now), restaurant, library, convenience store and small commissary, all within walking distance. You are close to the Colorado River and small lakes for kayaking and just north of here is the marine recreation area and campground where boats can be rented. It is pretty close to Yuma for shopping and restaurants and about 30 miles from the border crossing if you want to go to Algodones, Mexico for cheap dental work. (Bring your passport). The people camped here are nice. They have a Saturday morning potlock at the community hall. There is free ice and filtered water and a nice laundry facility exclusively for campers. Highly recommend this as a camping spot for full time RV-ers. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
February 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Arrived late afternoon and promptly met by Camp Host, after we went around the block because we saw the “RVs Park Here” sign on the right side of the road across from the office too late.  He took our basic information and settled us in.  We had choice of several sites but since only staying a few nights opted for the electric and water only site ($20 per night).  (Price does seem a bit high considering what the long term folks end up paying per night for full hook-ups.)  Having said that will add that there is a nice large club house (pool tables, TV room, book swap library, computers & printer, exercise machines, etc.), plenty of pay washers & dryers, and shower house.  Also can get Wi-Fi in the RV.  Staff was friendly and helpful.  Commissary is small and Exchange is a small shopette affair.  The cantonment area is quiet and appears sort of laid back.  Other RVers gave a friendly wave or a good morning, good vibes from this place.  Is a distance out of Yuma but the drive is tolerable.  If interested in history of the southwest, this is a must visit location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
11 June 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
AprilWhine please verify that you have your facts correct before you make blanket comments such as this regarding occupied by civilian contractors working on base. Four long-term slots are occupied by active duty military that are assigned to Yuma Proving Ground. Please correct me if I am wrong but they have priority on base. Five others are retired military. Two individuals work for the Army and three are working for contractors. All the long-term are either active duty or retired military and have the same rights as you regarding staying at the travel camp. I found the long-term residents rather pleasant. The active duty will receive a space before any retiree or DoD civilian. That is their right as was yours before you retired. I have stayed at the travel camp and it is still a peaceful quite place to visit. Stop whining if you don’t want to share the travel camp with active duty military. Don’t stay there! Find somewhere else to stay. You will not find anything in the Yuma area as reasonable as Desert Breeze.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 11 9
23 Nov - 1 Dec 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had a short stay here for a week. It was a great experience. It is a bit out of the way but it is nice and quiet. The host and staff were very helpful. Everyone in the park was friendly. The WiFi worked very well. They have a gob of washers and dryers. A great benefit here is the discount for staying a week, or month instead of just having a daily rate. More Fam Camps need to do that. We look forward to returning in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Feb 2012
(Updated: February 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Visiting this area for the first time, I found the staff to be the friendliest and nicest people we have come across in the past few months. They are very accommodating to the needs of the travelers. Very fair price, wonderful facilities in the camp and on the installation. There is a nice commissary bowling alley and small exchange. Be sure to visit the museum, there is a tremendous amount of history to see; and within walking distance from the campground! AK Hank
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Jan/Feb 2012
(Updated: February 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Hello... I have attempted to stop here recently. Two occasions and darn all full up. So they are frequently maxed out this time of year. Staff are absolutely upbeat and positive. So I passed through with using the RV dump and filling my water tanks. When I did get a tour of the facility it was very well appointed. So YUP on my to do list someday. Charles, WIN 3192
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
December 20-26, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Sites are level, graveled with cement pads on the side. Nicely maintained. Multi-purpose room has computers, wi-fi, television, pool tables, very large lounge areas. Laundry room/showers clean. Base has a fitness center, bowling alley, swimming pool, various cafes. The only empty sites when we were there were the designated "weekly" sites. There were two pull-through sites with no sewer, so I suppose those are for over-nighters. The YPG Heritage Center was closed for the holiday. YPG is 20 miles from Yuma, off Highway 95. The "commute" is worth it for the value and comfort of staying at this camp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Dec 20, 2011 - Dec 26, 2011
(Updated: January 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Sites are level, graveled with cement pads on the side. Nicely maintained. Multi-purpose room has computers, wi-fi, television, pool tables, very large lounge areas. Laundry room/showers clean. Base has a fitness center, bowling alley, swimming pool, various cafes. The only empty sites when we were there were the designated "weekly" sites. The YPG Heritage Center was closed for the holiday. YPG is 20 miles from Yuma off Highway 95. The "commute" is worth it for the value and comfort of staying at this camp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Dec 11, 2011 - Jan 11 2012
(Updated: December 21, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Have been here little over a week now and we are pleased with the campground and the office personnel. The Army here still require vehicle registration for the motor home and tow vehicle, but have had 100% ID checks each time we come on base. Monthly price has raised from $325 to $340, but I still think you can't beat the price. Some people have complained that it is so far away from Yuma, but 20 minutes or so doesn't seem that long to me. Easy in and out for any size rig at the AAFES gas station/shoppette about 4 blocks away and same thing for LP. Am staying in a 36 foot motor home, pulling a Chevy Colorado and would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
4-11 January 2011
(Updated: January 10, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Outstanding, quiet, user friendly with great on base facilities available. This the second time we have stayed here and, without a doubt, we will be back next Christmas/New Years and for the month of January.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We enjoyed our stay here and have nothing but compliments for this c/g. The people are great. Lots of activity. We had fun riding bikes and walking the dogs here. The history of the Base is very interesting.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Oct 2008 to Feb 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Hands down the best military campground around. Its all because of the commitment to excellence by the Travel Camp manager. Dianna understands the special circumstances and needs of the RV'ing crowd. She is a perfect example of anyone who runs and RV park, should have real RV experience. She is a no nonsense park manager who enforces the rules and runs the place like a well oiled machine. The park is constantly upgrading the grounds, adding spaces and planning trips to make your trip there enjoyable as possible.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
15 Dec 08
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is our favorite camp in the system. Diana has a lot to do with my opinion, she is the manage and one of the best in the business. They will have 20 new space open around the 1st of Jan 09 weather permitting. There is only one campground on this base, I read somewhere that there might be two. Yes doing the winter most of the people here are staying a month or more and 95% are retires. Does that make them homesteaders? Not in my opinion. You can stay here 7 months and you have to leave. It's a great place for people who are full timers like myself. You can walk around this base and see a lot of things made possible by the money generated by the camp and this is in addition to the camp improvements.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
April 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
There is an unpublished "pre-pay" policy whereby you can prepay in July for September or October and thus be assured of a space for the winter. All published info says "no reservations" so you would think it is "first come first served" but that is not the case. When I left in April I was not told of this policy by the camp manager. I think all camp policies should be published and known to eligible users.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 0
Sept 2007- Feb 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A real Gem in the desert and growing, as a frequent visitor there ,its amazing the support and positive approach the camp recieves from MWR. The camp is ran by one of the best, Diana takes care of all who travel there and continues to work hard to make it better. The only facility on the base that needs some improvement is the Cactus Cafe, it could use some serious attention when it comes to service. The overall experience continues to be one of the best in Arizona.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Oct. 7, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We arrived here and plan to stay 4 months. If you plan to stay here doing the winter you need to arrive by the 1st of Oct our prepay for you spot which is something new this year. We got one of the last two site. They plan to add more site next year which will put the camp ground over 100 sites. There are a few drawbacks to this campground. One is the air quality is getting real poor in the Yuma area and it depends on which way the wind is blowing on how bad it is at YPG. Two it is a long trip to town but we only go when we need a day out because you can get everything at YPG except diesel fuel. Diana, the manger here, is really good about making your stay a good one. Prices have changed, $20 per night, $100 per week, and $280 per month. For this you have full hookup, cable TV and WiFi at the gameroom area. In my opinion this campground is well worth the money. We only have two people in the camp who work at YPG and no kids.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
January 10th 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a GREAT RV Park. The staff is the best, especially the Manager Diana. She is a past and present RV'er so she knows what we want and what works best and considering she does 4 seperate jobs as well as run the park, she is great!! This is a small base so the on base amenities are also small. However they are there and easy to get to. The only bad thing is the distance from town..
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
OCT 06 - APR 07
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Recently expanded camp by adding 20+ sites with brand new 50-amp pedestals. Entire camp is 50 amp, sewer, outstanding water pressure and free cable t.v. Rate has increased to $270.00 per month but still worth the money. Drawbacks include approximately 25-minute drive into Yuma but it's easy to schedule trips. Fabulous family center w/large screen t.v. dining facilities, play equipment and computer stations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
19 results - showing 1 - 19